Energy  |  Events  |  10.11.2011

European Grid Conference

Hosted by Greens/EFA MEP Rebecca Harms, Renewables-Grid-Initiative (RGI) and Smart Energy for Europe Platform (SEFEP), the European Grid Conference “Beyond Public Opposition” addresses public acceptance-related issues in a discussions with decision makers, corporate stakeholders and representatives of the NGO community.

EVENT: Conference

DATE: 10 November 2011, 13.00 - 18.30

PLACE: European Parliament, Brussels

Transformation of the energy system is changing the geographic and time horizons for planning and implementing new infrastructure. To fully integrate renewable electricity from centralised and decentralised sources, the grid’s architecture needs to be adapted and expanded to allow transmission over long distances, across national borders, from generation to consumption and storage sites.

Thousands of kilometers of new lines need to be built today and in coming decades. However, public opposition is growing. To secure public support, new alliances across society are needed. It is necessary to bring more transparency to the grid business, to further develop participatory consultations and a toolbox for benefit sharing and compensation. Timely expansion of the grid will only be possible by including concerned citizens in the decision making process, and by addressing their legitimate concerns. How will the new legislation on permitting address these issues and stimulate understanding and support for grid expansion? What action beyond the new legislation is needed?

With contributions by: 

  • Günther H. Oettinger, European Commissioner for Energy 
  • Rebecca Harms, Co-President of the Greens/EFA Group in the European Parliament 
  • Christoph Bals, Political Director Germanwatch 
  • Martin Fuchs, Chairman of Board TenneT TSO 
  • Harry Huyton, Head of Climate Change Policy and Campaigns RSPB 
  • Boris Schucht, CEO 50Hertz Transmission 
  • Catharina Sikow-Magny, DHoU Security of Supply and Networkds, DG Energy, European Commission 
  • Stephan Singer, Global Energy Policy Director WWF 
  • Konstantin Staschus, Secretary General ENTSO-E 
  • Kristina Steenbock, Executive Director SEFEP 
  • Maria Van der Hoeven, Executive Director IEA (tbc)